followers view all
following view all
|Eileen89 is not in any groups|
The seriousness of a DUI charge
A person is charged with a DUI if he/she is caught driving under the influence. It must be noted that a DUI charge is a criminal charge with quite serious legal repercussions. Furthermore, driving under the influence is a strict liability offense. This means that the prosecution doesn’t have to prove that a person intended to drive under the influence. If the tests determine that the accused was under the influence while driving, the charge is satisfied.
A DUI charge results from being under the influence of a certain amount of alcohol, or any illegal substance including LSD, marijuana, cocaine, MDMA and others. For alcohol a Blood Alcohol Concentration test is used in the state of Nevada. The BAC does not depend on any units of measurement; it is just a measure of the percentage of alcohol in the blood compared to the weight of the individual. According to the rules in Nevada, the BAC limits for drivers under the age of 21 is 0.02%, for an adult who is 21 or older the limit is 0.08%.
While the BAC only applies to alcohol, the penalties for driving under the influence of illegal drugs could be more and are at the very least proportional to those, with alcohol. So if you are charged with a DUI, it is imperative that you hire a DUI attorney in Reno, Carson City and other places in the state of Nevada.
There are different penalties for first, second or third time offenses when it comes to a DUI charge.
First Time Offense
First time offenders can also have large fines imposed upon them and spend up to 2 days in jail. Sometimes the penalties can be worse if the person is facing an elevated DUI charge. This can occur with a BAC of 0.18% or greater. First time offenders generally have their license suspended for 90 days.
Second Time Offense
A second charge within seven years of the first charge can trigger quite serious penalties including a mandatory jail sentence. The jail time can be from 6 to 10 months, with fines ranging from $750 to $1000. Also, the driver’s license is suspended for a year.
Third Time Offense
If a driver receives a third DUI charge within seven years, under Nevada state law it is categorized as a category B felony. There is a 3 year license suspension, fines can range from $2,000 to $5,000, and the offender can face one to six years in prison.
As it is apparent from the penalties mentioned above, DUI charges can ruin a person’s life and cause substantial financial stress along with practical limitations. There are potential legal defenses and mitigating factors that a lawyer can use to fight off a DUI charge, or mitigate your sentence. Thus, if you are facing a similar situation in Reno, hire a DUI lawyer to stand a significantly better chance.
Joey Gilbert Law has an excellent record and reputation when it comes to fighting DUI charges, so if you’re facing a DUI charge in Reno, Nevada, be sure to call 775-284-7700.
Keywords used: Reno dui lawyer, dui attorney Reno
|share||like 9||report||83 views|